2nd Annual MIREC Awards – Recognising Excellence in Clean Energy Development

This year's awards will once again be presented by special guest Dr. Mario Molina, Nobel Prize Winner and Environmental Spokesman

Mario José Molina-Pasquel Henríquez is a Mexican chemist and one of the most prominent precursors to the discovering of the Antarctic ozone hole. He was a co-recipient of the 1995 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his role in elucidating the threat to the Earth's ozone layer of chlorofluorocarbon gases (or CFCs), becoming the first Mexican-born citizen to ever receive a Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

The 2nd annual MIREC Awards will take place on Wednesday 29 May at the Camino Real Polanco

The MIREC Awards are given in recognition of the tremendous wave of innovation and ingenuity occurring across Mexico clean energy projects.

Join us in the Exhibition Hall at 6pm for drinks, canapes and music as we celebrate the best in Mexican Wind and Solar innovation.

We would be delighted if you would take the time to nominate the organisation/ project that you feel deserves international recognition and acclaim, and widespread publicity. Your perspective is crucial as all awards are peer-nominated and we’re very grateful for your opinion.

Award Categories:

  • Best Renewable Energy Collaboration
    Nominate 2 companies who you feel have worked successfully together to create a world class project. This could be any combination of companies, for instance a bank and an IPP, or supplier and distributor.
  • Most Innovative Mexican Renewable Energy Company
    Nominate 1 company who is leading the green energy revolution related to the Solar, Wind or wider renewable energy sector in Mexico.
  • Best Renewable Energy Project in 2012
    Nominate one project based around wind, solar or transmission development that you consider to be the best in its class.

The Awards shortlist will be announced on 14 May 2013.

Confirmed on the judging panel are:


Dino Barajas, Partner, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld                                                                                                                                                                                             

Jacobo Mekler, President, Mexican Hydro Electric Association

Luis Aguirre- Torres, President and Chief Executive Officer, Green Momentum