Solar Power Mexico 2012:
The Only Event Uniting the Rapidly Expanding Mexican Solar Industry

It has been estimated that solar thermal and PV electricity will account for up to five percent of Mexico's energy supply by 2030, and up to ten percent by 2050.

Solar Power Mexico 2012 was an exciting and timely congress that brought together the burgeoning Mexican solar industry to chart the future of this promising market.

Having sold out of delegate places, sponsorship places and exhibition space, next year’s conference will be larger in every way to accommodate all those who wish to take part.

For the hotly anticipated keynote session on the day two, 200 delegates packed out the room to hear from the CFE and developers Abengoa, Siliken and Grupo Verdes discuss the role of the government in the growth of the market, and what can be done to stimulate further development.

The atmosphere of optimism and activity continued throughout the two days of presentation, debate and networking, with the event being generally thought to be the best solar event in Mexico.

Some of the testimonials from Solar Power Mexico 2012:

“Thank you for everything, the event was a success!!! Congratulations to you and your colleagues”. Paulina Dominguez, ABB México S.A. de C.V.

“A big congratulations on a successful first Solar Power Mexico.  I hear the solar segment was quite well-attended, which is great news for us!” Rosanne Lee, Marcom Project Manager, Sol Focus

 “What a great turnout to your Mexico show. We really enjoyed meeting you” Nico Johnson, Field Marketing Manager, Americas, Trina Solar

If you missed this year's event and would lilke to access the presentations, please contact  Samantha Coleman on:

T: + 971 238 0700

Next year’s event will be on the 16th 17th May 2013 at the Camino Real- Polanco, Mexico City. The event is likely to sell out so we recommend that you secure your delegate place at as early a stage as possible.

Pictures from MIREC 2012


The 2012 keynote speakers included:

Mario Molina, Nobel Prize Winner and Environmental Spokesman

Mario José Molina-Pasquel Henríquez is a Mexican chemist and one of the most prominent precursors to the discovering of the Antarctic ozone hole. He was a co-recipient of the 1995 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his role in elucidating the threat to the Earth's ozone layer of chlorofluorocarbon gases (or CFCs), becoming the first Mexican-born citizen to ever receive a Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Mr Molina will deliver the keynote opening address at Solar Power Mexico 2012. Arrive early to avoid missing his insights into Mexico’s role in the future of the global environment.

Jordy Herrera, Minister of Energy, Mexico

Minister Herrera's many years of experience in Mexican energy include serving as Sener's deputy minister of energy planning and technological development, prior to which he held the role of general director of Sener's investment promotion unit.

Having worked with President Calderon since he was Energy Minister himself, Mr Herrera is a long standing member of Mexico's political scene whilst also heading up PEMEX's subsidiary PGPM.

Minister Herrera has been a professor in the economics department of Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City, where he received his own degree in economics.

Dan E. Arvizu, Director, U.S. Department of Energy's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Dan E. Arvizu became the eighth Director of the U.S. Department of Energy's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) on January 15, 2005.  NREL, located in Golden, Colorado, is the Department of Energy's primary laboratory for energy efficiency and renewable energy research and development.  NREL is operated for DOE by Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC (Alliance).  Dr. Arvizu is President of Alliance and also is an Executive Vice President with the Midwest Research Institute, headquartered in Kansas City, Missouri. 

Prior to joining NREL, Dr. Arvizu was the chief technology officer with CH2M HILL Companies, Ltd. Before joining CH2M he was an executive with Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, New Mexico. He started his career and spent four years at the AT&T Bell Telephone Laboratories. 

In 2011, Dr. Arvizu was appointed by President Obama to a second six-year term on the National Science Board, the governing board of the National Science Foundation and the national science policy advisory body to the President and the Congress.

Mexican International Renewable Energy Congress- Day 1:

  • Hugo Beteta, Subregional Director, Mexico, United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Francisco Acosta Arredondo, Chief Modernization Officer, CFE
  • Alejandro Pereza Garcia, General Director of Electricity and Renewable Energy, CRE 
  • Luis Arias, Chief Executive Officer, Generation and Transmission, Secretary of Energy (SENER)
  • Arnoldo Rodríguez, Presidente Municipal de Zacatecas
  • Alejandro Velasco, Director of Renewable Energy, Oaxaca
  • Víctor Mendoza Salcedo, President, Regional Section, Chihuahua
  • Joaquín Gutiérrez Ley, Technical Director, Baja California Energy Commision
  • Eleanore Fox, Energy Officer, U.S Embassy, Mexico City 
  • Juan Manuel Carreras López, Director General, FIDE
  • Brian Schmidly, Mexico Coordinator, DESERTEC Foundation 
  • Miguel Angel Avila Rosales, Senior Member, IEEE 

Solar Power Mexico - Day 2:

  • Jose Antonio Aguilar Bueno, Senior Investment Officer, IFC
  • Arnaldo Vieira de Carvalho, Lead Energy Specialist, Inter-American Development Bank
  • Jose Ruiz, Director, Project Development, North American Development Bank
  • Ramon Olivas, Senior Associate, Emerging Energy and Environment CleanTech Fund
  • Ander Muelas López de Aberasturi, Managing Partner, Solar Division, Grupotec
  • John Skibinski, Founding Partner, Socios Energeticos de Mexico Verdes
  • Nancy Hartosh, Vice President, Marketing and Business, Solfocus
  • David Moneo, Sales Director, Latin America, Isofoton
  • Christian Ebner, Business Development, Fronius
  • Stefan Parhofer, Chief Executive Officer, Gehrlicher Solar America
  • Nicola Melchiotti, Country Manager, Enel Green Power
  • Andre von Frantzius, Solar Project Manager, DesMex Solar
  • Ignacio Osorio, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, DelSol Systems
  • Fernando Arriaga, Chief Executive Officer, Granite Chief
  • Paolo Pietrogrande, Chairman, Element Power Solar
  • Alvaro Lentz, Vice President, Mexican National Solar Energy Association (ANES)
  • Roberto Cadenas Tovar, Deputy Manager of Renewable Energy Projects, CFE
  • Manuel Vegara Llanes, Director, LATAM Operations, Siliken
  • Roberto Marcos, Country Head, Chile, Abengoa

This event was fully supported by the Mexican National Solar Energy Association (ANES)


This event was simultaneously translated into Spanish & English
 La Conferencia será traducida simultáneamente en Español y Inglés